Cookies To The Rescue

In my blog, I mainly try to share my training and racing experiences from my triathlon world.  Recently, I turned to my triathlon world to solve a personal problem with great success and I wanted to share with everyone.

I read an article in the WSJ last month that sent me searching for a solution.  I posted an excerpt below and link to the article for your perusal.  It discusses a recent study that shows skipping breakfast before a day of school significantly reduced students’ speed and accuracy on cognitive and memory tests compared with those who ate breakfast.  It also noted that girls without breakfast were significantly more disrupted in their ability to focus than boys who didn’t have breakfast, results showed.  This was eye opening for me.

No Breakfast Hurts Girls’ Focus Most

By ANN LUKITS

Skipping breakfast before a day of school significantly reduced students’ speed and accuracy on cognitive and memory tests compared with           those who ate breakfast, according to a study recently published online in the journal Appetite.

Researchers compared the performance of 1,386 students from 32 schools throughout the U.K. on several Internet-based tests of attention, memory and reaction time. Subjects included 721 girls and 665 boys age 6 to 16 who logged onto a website between 7:42 a.m. and 12:33 p.m. On testing day, 1,202 students reported having breakfast and 184 didn’t have breakfast. A higher percentage of girls didn’t have breakfast, 7.6% compared with 5.6% of boys.

image

Compared with those who ate breakfast, students who skipped the morning meal had 7% slower power of attention, a measure of their ability to focus and avoid distraction. They also detected 7% fewer targets on target-detection tasks and correctly identified 9% fewer pictures on a picture-recognition test at a 9% slower speed than students who ate breakfast. Variability in response time, an indication of focusing consistency, was 10% more erratic in those who missed breakfast. Girls without breakfast were significantly more disrupted in their ability to focus than boys who didn’t have breakfast, results showed.

I turned to Erin Baker’s looking for a solution.  I was familiar with the brand through my triathlon experiences.   They sponsor an age-group triathlon team and offer many healthy foods including endurance granola and their famous breakfast cookies.  I’m not sponsored by them, but have tried their products in the past.  I knew their cookies may be able to help on all fronts if I could convince my daughter to try them.  My thoughts were that this would help her get a healthy start to her day and introduce calories right away to help her morning mood.

Erin Baker's Wholesome Baked Goods Logo

The Original Breakfast Cookie is something you can feel good about eating. Baked fresh with heart-healthy whole grains and sweetened with fruit puree, our cookies combine the flavors we all love with a heartiness that satisfies for hours. Packed with protein, antioxidants, fiber and complex carbohydrates, it is a healthy and delicious way to start your day. Every Breakfast Cookie is handcrafted in our own bakery using the finest ingredients available. You can taste the exceptional quality in each bite. Taste one, or better yet, taste them all!

I first introduced the idea to her about having her own secret stash of breakfast cookies (the name helped!) that she could open herself every morning when she wakes up.  I mentioned that they tasted great,would help her mood in the morning as well as help her learn more at school.  She really liked the idea of her own “secret stash”.  I ordered several different flavors including the following:

Morning Glory

A blend of apples, walnuts, coconut, raisins and carrot cake spices that makes each morning glorious!

Banana Walnut

A favorite for everyone here at the bakery! We use fresh banana puree, premium walnuts and whole grain oats to create this cookie which tastes a lot like banana bread, especially if you toast it!

I could not be more pleased with the results.  We’ve been trying this now for the past three weeks and she loves the cookies!  Every night she chooses her cookie and sets it(wrapped) beside her bed stand with some water.  She doesn’t always finish the cookie, but I told her that was ok!  She tends to also want some yogurt or fruit later in the morning before school to top her off.  I can honestly say that this has been a blessing for her.  She’s happier in the morning and hopefully also seeing the benefit in school!

I just felt the need to share my great success story and hope it can help others!

Cheers,

Michael

Leave a Reply

