Vineman 70.3 and Full IM dist Aquabike

Today all of the Vineman races opened up for registration.  Their 70.3 was my first half Ironman two years ago.  This past year I dropped over 38min off my time finishing in 5:22.  I love the course and I’m excited to see big improvements in my run and a nice drop in my overall time in 2011!  You can read my ’09 & ’10 reports here:

 

2010 Vineman 70.3 Click through to read race report

2009 Vineman 70.3 - Click through to read race report

 

Although I have no interest in the full IM distance at this time, I love the full IM aquabike race they have.  I raced it last year and it was a great experience and really tested out my fitness.  I highly suggest this race to anyone who loves the 70.3 distance who wants to really test their fitness!  They limit it to only 200 people, so it sells out quickly.  Here is my race report:

2010 Vineman Aquabike Finish - Click through for race report

My 2011 race schedule is now finalized at least for the larger races.   I’ve never raced Oceanside or Hawaii and I’m excited to try a couple of new races for me this year.  The Oceanside race is on April 2nd, so I need to make sure that I don’t start from scratch in Dec or January!  Luckily, I live in California and can train in the winter.  That and the fact that I don’t mind training at the gym or on my computrainer  should help me get prepared!  This past year I started with a couple non-taper races to test my fitness.  Those were almost more frustrating than helpful, as I knew I was stronger than ever.  I need to work with coach on mapping out if I want to race any smaller ones this year.  I do want to find a February/March cycling camp to fire up my cycling early on.

Ironman Oceanside 70.3

This will be my first time racing the Oceanside 70.3 on April 2nd.  I hear the water is pretty cold, but I’m used to that training here in NorCal.  This will be the earliest I ‘ve ever raced and I am excited to stretch out my year!

Ironman Hawaii 70.3

Who knows when and if I will ever win a lottery spot for the full Kona IM.  Given that, I decided to race Kona’s 70.3 on the queen K on June 4th!  Two summers ago I biked the full distance course and loved it.  I have a couple of buddies who competed in this race over the past few years and they loved it.  It’s also a good excuse for a family vacation!

Ironman Vineman 70.3 & Full IM Distance Aquabike

And of course I will also be back for the Vineman 70.3 for my third year in a row.  I went from 6:01 to 5:22 this year and my aim is for 5-5:15 next year!!!!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

