Building up 2011 Race Schedule

I had a great block of racing this year, which included Icebreaker sprint tri, Wildflower Oly distance Tri, Boise 70.3, Vineman 70.3, full Vineman Aquabike and lastly the Marin Century.  I don’t want the fun to end!  In past years, I have taken a few months off training and then ramped back up.  I’ve now decided to focus solely on biking up to the Tahoe century in late September.   This will allow me to keep my fitness and then start right up in October with base building again.  Luckily, I’ve never had the burnout issues other friends have had even after 10yrs of training and racing.

Part of my motivation for keeping my cycling up and ramping up again in October is that I signed up for an early season 70.3.  I’ve never raced Oceanside and I’m excited to try a couple of new races this year.  The race is on April 2nd, so I need to make sure that I don’t start from scratch in Dec or January!  Luckily, I live in California and can train in the winter.  That and the fact that I don’t mind training at the gym or on my computrainer  should help me get prepared!  This past year I started with a couple non-taper races to test my fitness.  Those were almost more frustrating than helpful, as I knew I was stronger than ever.  I need to work with coach on mapping out if I want to race any smaller ones this year.  I do want to find a February/March cycling camp to fire up my cycling early on.

Ironman Oceanside 70.3

This will be my first time racing the Oceanside 70.3 on April 2nd.  I hear the water is pretty cold, but I’m used to that training here in NorCal.  This will be the earliest I ‘ve ever raced and I am excited to stretch out my year!

Ironman Hawaii 70.3

Who knows when and if I will ever win a lottery spot for the full Kona IM.  Given that, I decided to race Kona’s 70.3 on the queen K on June 4th!  Two summers ago I biked the full distance course and loved it.  I have a couple of buddies who competed in this race over the past few years and they loved it.  It’s also a good excuse for a family vacation!

Ironman Vineman 70.3

 And of course I will also be back for the Vineman 70.3 for my third year in a row.  I went from 6:01 to 5:22 this year and my aim is for 5-5:15 next year!!!!

The rest of the schedule is still up in the air for now, but these look to be my “A” races.

Cheers!

One response to “Building up 2011 Race Schedule

Leave a Reply

