New Kestrel Legend SL & Retul Fit

1 cave1

My New Mistress!

I hope the New Year is treating everyone well.  Going into 2013, I was looking to upgrade my road bike and looked to Kestrel’s new line.  I’ve been a huge fan since I was first introduced to the brand when they sponsored the Trakkers/REV3 team a few years back.  My Kestrel 4000 rocket is the fastest bike I’ve ever ridden.  Last year I made some great upgrades to my 4000 that helped me qualify for Vegas Champs.  Given that I moved to a much hillier area and I’m also tackling some tough hilly courses this year, I felt it was time for a road bike upgrade.  My new ride is the Kestrel SRAM Red Legend SL.  I’ve been most impressed with how feather light it is and the sharp drive train response. If you’ve never ridden a high end road bike, you should give the Legend a spin!  Here are a few review quotes for the Legend:

Peloton magazine Review

“Flawless craftsmanship…feathery weight…I loved the Legend’s ride. It was rock stable at high speed plus nimble and quick. It was light and lively and it made hanging on the descent and climb a breeze.” READ MORE

JIM LANGLEY, ROAD BIKE RIDER

“A great alternative to ‘comfort’ road bikes like the Specialized Roubaix. As opposed to making a crazy stiff bike and trying to quash vibration, the Legend lets the vibration move through the bike to inform your sense of the road surface.” READ MORE

PATRICK BRADY, RED KITE PRAYER

“Perhaps most notable with the Legend is the fork construction method, which uses both an internal bladder and a foam core to maximize efficiency of the carbon lay-up.”READ MORE

BEN DELANEY, BIKE RADAR
1 cave2

Sneaking in a ride in between rain showers!

I logged a few rides in between rain storms just before the end of the year and loved her.  I knew that I wanted to fine tune my fit with Retul, as that really helped me dial in my Kestrel 4000 a few years back.  Phil from HyperCat has helped me in the past before moving to Ventura and he now comes up to NorCal once a quarter with his mobile shop.  If you’ve never had a Retul fit, it is well worth looking into.  You will literally see your power increase throughout the fit to find you power sweet spot.

Here is some background info on what a Retul fit looks like:

retullogo

WHY GET A RETUL BIKE FIT?

What are the benefits of a proper bike fit?
A proper bike fit is essential for injury prevention and maximized efficiency.  An optimal position on the bike will allow for greater comfort and enjoyment while riding.  All bodies are different and your position on the bike should reflect your biomechanics.

Why get fit with Retul 3D motion capture technology?
The best way to analyze a rider’s efficiency is to observe and measure the rider while he or she is pedaling the bike.  Retul 3D motion capture technology simultaneously measures three planes of movement on the rider as he or she is in motion.  Retul averages the rider’s pedal strokes to provide a comprehensive data set reflecting the rider’s movements.  Only at this point can a bike fit expert properly evaluate changes to a rider’s position.  Attempts to analyze the rider in a static position, or only in two dimensions, will not provide data at the same level of accuracy as 3D motion capture.      

Who can benefit from a bike fit?
Generally, if you are serious enough to clip into a bike, you will benefit from a bike fit.  Whether you are a professional or recreational rider, getting the proper bike fit is an effective yet economical way to improve performance.

How long does a Retul fit take?
An average fit with Retul lasts 90 minutes.  However, if you have major adjustments or component changes, the fit may be longer.

How is fit data shared with the rider?
The Retul software archives data for every rider and his or her bike/bikes.  The client receives a report of the final fit data, which includes body measurements and angles, as well as bike set-up and measurements.

Hypercat Fitting with Phil

Ok, back to my fit session with Phil.  He was up in NorCal in his mobile shop, which is way more that I imagined.  I also had a new pair of Pearl Izumi Tri-Fly shoes that needed to be fitted. We started off on the trainer and looking at any obvious changes that needed to be made.

retul

Wired up for Retul session!

The biggest thing that needed to be addressed was how scrunched up my shoulders were.  I also needed to improve my elbow angle by relaxing some more.  Below are good before and after pics!

retul1

Before/After Photos

Below is the type of output you can expect from a great Retul fit.  We definitely found my power sweet spot in the fitting and I’ve already noticed a significant increase in power on recent rides!

retul2

Retul Fit Report

Lastly, as I was writing up this post I saw Phil post a pic of a Retul fit he recently completed for Simon Whitfield!  If the fastest triathletes in the world trust Phil, I’m glad he’s my fitter!!!

You may recognize this Gold medal winner!

Cheers,

Hutto


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

